Certified Sanctions Specialist “CSS”

Certification Program


Who can take the Exam?

Individuals who have met the minimum qualifications can sit for the Exam. Eligibility requires a minimum scoring based upon a combination of factors. Persons who have not yet met the minimum levels required can take continuing education programs with ACSS or other sources to reach the minimum requirements. (40 credits, see www.sanctionsassociation.org)

What topics will be on the Exam?

TThe Exam will focus on various aspects of the sanctions subject. A job analysis will determine the content and the importance of each knowledge area for the specialists in the field. The certification Exam will be tailored to international best practices and basic frameworks for sanctions efforts around the world.
I. Sanctions Regime Types, Goals, Prohibitions and Effects
II. Sanctions Imposers and Targets
III. Sanctions Evasion: Typologies and Schemes
IV. Essential Components of a Risk-Based Sanctions Compliance Program in Different Industry Settings
V. Role of Technology and List Screening
VI. Other Operational Issues Contributing to an Effective and Efficient Sanctions Compliance Program
VII. Enforcement and Conducting or Supporting Investigations into Sanctions Violations

Who is eligible to take the Exam?

ACSS Certification eligibility is based on a points system. Candidates who wish to take the CSS Examination must have a minimum of 40 qualifying credits based on education, other professional certification, and professional experience in the sanctions field, in addition to providing 3 references.

For more information about Eligibility Requirements, please click here

About the Exam

The CSS Exam will be the product of collaboration between ACSS, its job Analysis Taskforce, and an independent company with expertise on research, testing, measurement, management and technology. The result will be a psychometrically sound Exam that assures the quality and soundness of the ACSS certification program.

How is the Exam administrered?

Since ACSS members reside worldwide, we will use a computerized Exam. Administration method, ACSS will begin to offer Exams in 2019, multiple times per year. ACSS also will offer an online Exam preparation publication with sample Exam questions. Requirements to sit for the Exam include the completion of an ACSS Exam application and payment of an application fee plus the costs for the testing service at the time of them Exam.

What is the CSS credit award system for Examination eligibility?

I. Education:
a. Associate Degree: 10 credits
b. Bachelor’s Degree: 20 credits
c. Master’s Degree/PhD/JD or equivalent: 30 credits
II. Professional experience:
a. Each year of full-time experience in sanctions or related duties.
b. Professional experience is limited to 3 years: 10 credits per year.
III. Training:
a. Professional Certification – CPA, CPP, CRCM, CAFP, CFE, CAMS, CGSS, ETCI ECoP, Finra Series, etc: 10 credits per certification.
b. Attendance at a course/seminar/webinar/conference/training/certificate courses or educational session on the topic of sanctions, trade compliance or export controls or related subjects (includes internal training, external training, government agency training) – 1 credit per hour.

For more information about Eligibility Requirements, please click here

For more information about What You Can Practically Expect on the day of the Exam, click here.

Obtain your CSS Certification